#11: Sell the result 💰

Happy Friday! 🎉 I haven’t worn my smartwatch in 2 weeks and my phone screen time is down significantly. Enjoying not being on my phone much, and the refreshing freedom from notifications and nudges has me contemplating a—shave all your hair and move to a remote village in Mongolia—type seismic life change. Let me check my phone and look at flights….ah dammit! I fought a good fight.

Subscriber count: 134

Okay, let's get into it 🚀

🧹 But first, some housekeeping…

  1. Last week’s post or all the posts

  2. Tell me what you think of The Friday Fix so far 

  3. Leave a review

  4. First time here? Subscribe here ❤️

  5. Love The Friday Fix? Spread the love by forwarding it to your friends or just talking about it over dinner

💡 1 thing I've learned this week

Sell the result, not the product

“Subscribe to The Friday Fix: a weekly newsletter with life and work tips”

“Subscribe to The Friday Fix: the newsletter that’ll make you the best version of yourself”

Color bias notwithstanding, which of the above statements would make you hit subscribe?

[OBJECTION! Leading the witness!]

[I love a good legal drama]

After saying your answer in your head and maybe even pointing at it with puckered lips, let’s talk about why the second one is better.

When you create a product, no one knows that product better than you. And if you’re passionate, one question about that product can devolve into a 5-minute rambling about how your product is the best thing since warm mandazi.

When I started my data consultancy, so much as a whisper of the word “data” from a stranger and I’d drone on about dashboards and predictive analytics until the (unfortunate) listener had dry mouth.

And I suspect you’d do the same with your baby product.

But no one cares about your product.

Customers want to know how your product solves their problems or improves their lives.

So, tell them that instead.

Instead of selling a 24-hour hydrating lotion, sell me a cream that’ll make my skin soft and supple and take me from a radio face to a prime news face.

“This is great, Shem, but I work at [insert boring mind-numbing 9-5 vocation].”

This principle works for selling products or skills.

So, if figuring out what technology to use for your business or work fills your pants with fire ants, book a consultation with me today 😉.

And if you want to learn more about generating sales, this article (I highlighted the relevant section because I’m like totally the best) and this thread helped me a lot.

🔌 Shameless plug

Readers are saying reading TLDR Weekly saved them from newspapers and they can’t stop scrolling.

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less 🚀

🙏🏾 1 thing I'm grateful for

Remote work.

The privilege to hop on a flight and spend close to three weeks with my family without talking to HR, or selling a kidney.

I’m grateful for it and I don’t take it for granted.

🚀 Pro-tip

Create a chart in Excel in less than 5 seconds

Step 1: Select the data

Data purely for comical purposes (or is it? 😉)

Step 2: Use a shortcut

On a PC, hold down Alt, Fn, and F1. For some of you, it might be Alt + [Windows Button] + F1. On a Mac, use Option (⌥), Fn, and F1

Done.

This video will show you other ways to create charts in Excel.

💡 Bonus tip

Copy the data you selected, paste it into this website, and the site will create a fun, quirky graph for you.

🧩 Games

Riddle

Brought to you by Braingle.

Take the given words, and by moving a single letter from one word to the other, make a pair of synonyms, or near synonyms. For example, given: Boast - Hip, move the 's' from 'Boast' to 'Hip' creating two synonyms: Boat - Ship.

1. Inks - Tiles
2. Ride - Relive
3. Gaze - Freed
4. Snail - Pike
5. Snag - Cold

Answer below

🔥 What's hot

Latest YouTube video

A past blog article while I enjoy some time off

▶️ Shem’s picks

🧘🏾‍♂️ How to craft a harmonious life

🏄🏾‍♂️ How the internet came to be

🛌🏾 Sleeping tips from experts

🍕 It was Pi-Day this week on 3/14 (if you acknowledge America’s ghastly date format), so here’s a demo of the concept using pizza

👼🏾 How to say you’re sorry

❓Riddle answer

Answer:

1. Links - Ties
2. Rid - Relieve
3. Graze - Feed
4. Nail - Spike
5. Nag - Scold

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

💞 Reviews and ratings

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

You're [sic] opening statements get me everytime lol

Mike

🤝🏾 Let's connect

  1. Say hi on Twitter or Instagram

  2. Book a consultation for Excel or your CV

  3. Want to sponsor or advertise in this newsletter? Email me 

  4. All my links

  5. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything.

This newsletter was forwarded to you? Subscribe here ❤️

Reply

or to participate.