#10: No free lunches 🍛

Happy Friday! 🎉 Typing this furiously at the dining table while praying my son lingers a little longer in the trappings of his afternoon slumber. Wow, that was pretentious. Let’s try that again—I’m typing this quickly before my son wakes up, climbs into my lap, and lingers on the backspace buuuuuuuuuuuutton. There. That’s better.

Subscriber count: 130

Okay, let's get into it 🚀

🧹 But first, some housekeeping…

  1. Last week’s post if you missed it.

  2. Tell me what you think of The Friday Fix so far 

  3. Leave a review

  4. First time here? Subscribe here ❤️

  5. Love The Friday Fix? Spread the love by forwarding it to your friends

💡 1 thing I've learned this week

Stop doing things for free

A prospective YouTube video sponsor asked me to review their product in exchange for a Pro subscription and my first instinct was to say “HELL YES!” without question.

Why?

“I don’t have that many subscribers on YouTube.”

“I haven’t [even] hit YouTube’s monetization quotas yet.”

“I don’t have consistently high views.”

Wah wah wah!

This descent into self-doubt almost made me do the gig for free because I thought I ought to be grateful for the opportunity.

But then I sobered up.

I sobered up and realized making videos is hard work. I sobered up and realized I’m pretty good at making said videos, and there’s a reason they reached out after all.

So I stepped back, calculated a handsome fee (a session for another day), and replied to the email respectfully but sternly.

And guess what?

They asked for my bank details.

Provide a quality service/product and charge for it as early as possible.

Doing work for free, or undercharging sets a dangerous precedent you can struggle to shake.

Plus, exposure is overrated.

Charge now. In fact, charge more.

🔌 Shameless plug

Readers are saying reading TLDR Weekly is like getting news from your bestie.

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less 🚀

🙏🏾 1 thing I'm grateful for

Breakfast. My favorite meal of the daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay.

[Sorry, my son woke up]

One second…

Okay, what do you have for breakfast?

I have a bowl of oatmeal enlivened by whatever fruit I can find (a minimum of sweet bananas and mango slices on a good day), and occasionally, a scoop of peanut butter.

I go to bed anticipating it. I lie in bed dreaming about it. I wake up pining for it.

🚀 Pro-tip

Send personalized bulk messages for free

You want to email 10 people the same thing but you want each of them to feel like the email was sent to just them…

🧩 Games

Riddle

Brought to you by Braingle.

Four sisters, Sara, Ophelia, Nora, and Dawn, were each born in a different one of the months September, October, November, and December.

"This is terrible," said Ophelia one day. "None of us have an initial that matches the initial of her birth month."

"I don't mind at all," replied the girl who was born in September.

"That's easy for you to say," said Nora. "It would at least be cool if the initial of my birth month was a vowel, but no."

In which month was each girl born?

Answer below

🔥 What's hot

Latest YouTube video

🚩 Clickbait

📚 For Women’s Month, here’s a list of the best books written by women

🚀 Land this spaceship on the moon

🛑 A satisfying video of a guy making a street sign

✏️ Apply for jobs using ChatGPT

❓Riddle answer

Answer: Sara was born in October, Ophelia was born in November, Nora was born in December, and Dawn was born in September.

Nora's birth month obviously cannot be November. Since it doesn't start with a vowel, it cannot be October. Since she was talking to the girl who was born in September, it cannot be September. Therefore, it must be December.

The girl born in September obviously cannot be Sara. Since she was talking to both Ophelia and Nora, it cannot be either of them. Therefore, it must be Dawn.

This leaves the girls Sara and Ophelia and the months October and November. Ophelia cannot be born in October, so she must be born in November, and Sara was born in October.

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

💞 Reviews

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

I love everything, it is educative, engaging and entertaining. Also just to add another 'e' easy-to-read.

Victoria Kizza

🤝🏾 Let's connect

  1. Say hi on Twitter or Instagram

  2. Book a consultation for Excel or your CV

  3. Want to sponsor or advertise in this newsletter? Email me 

  4. All my links

  5. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything.

This newsletter was forwarded to you? Subscribe here ❤️

Reply

or to participate.