#92: Do hard things.

Hi! Welcome to The Friday Fix! You’re reading this because you probably stumbled upon this post somewhere on the internet instead of where it should be—in your inbox. But no worries; we can fix that.

Who am I? I’m Shem Opolot, a health professional turned content creator, passionate about helping people be their best selves in life and work.

Why should you subscribe?

  1. I have over ten years of work experience in healthcare, program management, and data analytics on two continents. So, I know a little about helping you work smarter

  2. I comb through tonnes of self-improvement content so you don’t have to, and I distill the content into bite-sized wisdom for you

  3. I’ll occasionally make you laugh

If this sounds good, click the subscribe button below, add your email, read my welcome email (check your spam folder or Promotion tabs), and follow ALL the instructions. This is important so you don’t miss future posts.

Hi! I'm Shem Opolot, and this is The Friday Fix, my weekly newsletter. If you've received it, you’re either subscribed or someone forwarded it to you. If you fit into the latter (yes, I’m the kind of person who uses words like “latter”) camp and want to subscribe, then click on the shiny button below:

You can also skim the past posts here.

Otherwise, grab a seat 🪑.

Happy Friday 🎉 Zion (my son—for the new and uninitiated; Hi 👋🏾 btw) turned three this week, and he got more gifts than we have space for. But his favorite toy remains whatever toy his sister holds at any given time.

LIFE & WORK
Do hard things.

Art What GIF by Sherchle

Gif by sherchle on Giphy

The first time I went to the gym, I met Yücel while squirming under a 40-kilogram weight I underestimated on the bench press. Sensing my struggle, this stocky, Arab-looking, full-bearded Turkish-German rushed to the head of the bench to salvage my neck and my dignity.

Yücel gripped the barbell.

His bare, calloused hands moved along the length of the bar searching for the commensurate friction to lift the barbell.

From that day, Yücel became my guide in the gym, motivating me to get out of bed and cussing me out when I skimped on my reps. He made me lift progressively heavier weights over time and called me a little b*tch whenever I slacked. Under Yücel’s militant regime, I went from squirming under the barbell on the bench press to lifting twice my body weight and doing about 500 push-ups a day.

I was in the best shape of my life.

When I graduated from college in 2013, unemployment anxiety packed its bags and moved into the space in my head, vacated by biostatistics. The easy thing to do was to return home and figure things out, but instead, I emailed the intimidating doctor I interned with the previous summer to ask for a job. The doctor responded and summoned me to Ohio to work as a research assistant.

I had no place to stay in Ohio, I didn’t know anyone there, and I’d be the only black man there for miles. But I did it, and Ohio became the darling of my past in America.

2 years later, my work permit expired, and again, the easy thing to do was to go home and figure things out, but instead, I applied to Duke University.

I graduated from Duke, and again, post-graduation anxiety visited me like an unwanted relative on a quiet Sunday afternoon. The easier thing to do was to apply for jobs, hope for the best, and worst-case scenario, return to my parents’ home in Uganda to regroup.

Instead, fully understanding the challenges Duke had in Uganda, I wrote my job description and shared it with my advisor—an illustrious, intimidating neurosurgeon who excelled at everything except interpersonal skills. Such a bold request would make or break our professional relationship.

My advisor said yes.

If you lift the same weight in the gym forever, you’ll still be in decent shape. Mediocre, but decent. However, periodically lifting heavier weights will make you stronger.

The more you do things you’re afraid of, the more you do hard things; like a muscle, your threshold for “hard” increases, empowering you to do incredible things.

Do hard things often.

❤️ Share The Friday Fix online, via WhatsApp, Twitter, or email.

THINGS.
A quote.

Gisele Pelicot’s story is jarring but monumental for how we think and talk about sexual assault.

Shame must change sides from the victims to the perpetrators.

Gisele Pelicot

A picture.

My little sister took this picture of Zion earlier in the year while they were out on a date, and it captures who Zion is—a bustling contradiction. He wants to have a good time and make a mess, but he also likes comfort and a soft life. He’s adventurous, compassionate, and loving, but he still can’t share his toys (or her toys) with his little sister. I love him. I pray for him. I thank God for him.

❤️ Share The Friday Fix online, via WhatsApp, Twitter, or email.

WORK.
Get sh*t done.

This site will help you turn big projects into actionable steps.

❤️ Share The Friday Fix online, via WhatsApp, Twitter, or email.

FUN.
The Friday Fix Playlist

Shem’s picks

✅ A word search game is always a good idea.

✅ Six core skills mastered by the smartest people.

✅ Help choose the most beautiful word in the English language.

✅ The BBC has an archive of 33,000+ sound effects you can download for free.

✅ What was the weather like on the day you were born?

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

❤️ Share The Friday Fix online, via WhatsApp, Twitter, or email.

Reply

or to participate.