#12: Trust your (negative) gut 👊🏾

Happy Friday! 🎉 After getting used to the sound of toys, utensils, and food items crashing on the floor; to the sound of playful giggles, and the pitter-patter of baby feet, I welcome silence with the same enthusiasm you welcome an unpopular aunt on a Saturday afternoon, right before you turn on Netflix. But now, having left my wife and child and hopped on a flight back to the motherland, all I hear is the sound of the keys producing these words. I hate this silence and I hate what it represents. Wow! That took a dark turn…

…But I love you, so welcome to this week’s issue—

*Ba dum—tsss* 🥁

🧹 But first, some housekeeping…

  1. Last week’s post or all the posts

  2. Tell me what you think of The Friday Fix so far 

  3. Leave a review

  4. First time here? Subscribe here ❤️

  5. Love The Friday Fix? Spread the love by forwarding it to your friends or just talking about it over dinner

💡 1 thing I've learned this week

Trust your (negative) gut

Source: GIPHY

Remember that one time you applied for a job and you had a great feeling about it…

…then you never got so much as an acknowledgment email from them?

Or that time you went on a date that set your heart aflutter, only to be grounded by gravity and reality a few weeks later?

Our good feelings about things are often misleading and fleeting. Mostly because we want them to be true.

In the past, every time I applied for a job I considered PERFECT FOR ME, I’d start planning my morning commute, searching Amazon for desk accessories, and rehearsing all the jokes I’d tell in the coffee break room.

I’d be such a great work colleague!

But nope.

The negative feelings you get about things, people, and situations, though? Those you should listen to.

Whether it be a person you don’t date or a job offer you turn down, your negative gut feeling will always be vindicated later.

And not just by self-fulfilling prophecy or sour grapes.

My negative gut has never let me down.

I just wish it would nudge me into a head-on collision with a million dollars.

🔌 Shameless plug

Readers are saying reading TLDR Weekly is about to take Uganda’s media space by storm, and I agree.

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less 🚀

🙏🏾 1 thing I'm grateful for

Speaking engagements.

Seven hours after landing at Entebbe Airport, I threw on a black blazer over a plain white tee, draped on ash grey slim tapered pants, revealing tasteful ankle cleavage; hid my feet in plain white trainers (in Kampala, so you know I’m audacious) and moderated a panel on AI bias and data colonialism.

I loved every second of it.

I prayed for more opportunities like this and look at God!

🚀 Pro-tip

Sharing is caring in Google Workspace

Source: GIPHY

You created the perfect file in Google Workspace (Docs, Sheets, Slides) and everyone wants a copy.

What’s the most efficient way to share the file without messing up your masterpiece, you ask?

Hold my drink 🧃

A GIF(GIF?) illustration of the magic in less than 15 seconds

Step 1: While in the file in your browser of choice, click Ctrl + L on a PC (⌘ + L on a Mac) to select the entire link to the file

(You can also manually click in the address bar and manually select the entire link, but WHY do you glorify suffering?)

Step 2: Copy the selected link using the shortcut Ctrl + C on a PC (or ⌘ + C on a Mac)

Step 3: Paste the link in any word processor using Ctrl + V (⌘ + V on a Mac)

The pasted link will look something like this for a Google Doc (it’ll be “spreadsheets” instead of “document” in a Google Sheet) ⤵️

Step 4: Delete everything, starting with “edit” and onwards, and replace them with the word “copy”

Like this ⤵️

Step 5: Select the entire revised link, copy it, and share it en masse 🎉

Done. When anyone clicks the link, this is what they’ll see in their browser

The revised link with “copy” instead of “edit” will prompt them to make a copy of the document

💡 Bonus tip

If you want the document you share to be downloaded by the recipient as a pdf (great when you’re sharing your CV) repeat steps 1 - 3, but in Step 4, instead of using “copy”, use this: “export?format=pdf” (don’t ask, just do 😅)

🧩 Games

Riddle

Brought to you by Braingle.

What phrase is represented by the following?

a) 1/2 = 05
b) six percent = 006
c) four and a half = 45
d) pi = approximately 314

Answer below

🔥 What's hot

A past YouTube video (new one drops on Monday)

A past blog article (new one drops on Sunday)

▶️ Shem’s picks

🏞️ The top international parks in the world

📽 You must watch this animation about the artist who couldn’t draw (Spoiler: it has nothing to do with drawing)

🤝🏾 If you work on diverse teams, this short article about scheduling might help

🔎 If you want to try my fancy browser (Arc), here’s an invite. First come, first served. (You can also message me and I’ll send you an invite if I have any at the time)

❓Riddle answer

Answer: missing the point

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

💞 Reviews and ratings

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

I love it!

Carrots

🤝🏾 Let's connect

  1. Say hi on Twitter or Instagram

  2. Book a consultation for Excel or your CV

  3. Want to sponsor or advertise in this newsletter? Email me 

  4. All my links

  5. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything.

This newsletter was forwarded to you? Subscribe here ❤️

Reply

or to participate.