#30: Hashtag Goals

Hi! Welcome to The Friday Fix! You’re reading this because you probably stumbled upon this post somewhere on the internet instead of where it should be—in your inbox. But no worries; we can fix that.

Who am I? I’m Shem Opolot, a health professional turned content creator, passionate about helping people be their best selves in life and work.

Why should you subscribe?

  1. I have over 10 years of work experience in healthcare, program management, and data analytics on two continents. So, I know a little about helping you work smarter

  2. I comb through tonnes of self-improvement content so you don’t have to, and I distill the content into bite-sized wisdom for you

  3. I’ll occasionally make you laugh

If this sounds good to you, click the subscribe button below, add your email, read the welcome email from me in your inbox (check your spam folder or Promotion tabs), and follow ALL the instructions. This is important so you don’t miss future posts.

Happy Friday 🎉 *Taps mic*

[A deafening feedback echo screeches, fills the room, and dissipates.]

“HELLO?!” “Can you hear me?”

[Obviously, you only hear me when I ask if you can hear me.]

This is the 30th issue of The Friday Fix, and y’all are still here? Is it crack? (I hope so.)

Over 500 of you read this newsletter weekly! Thank you for your attention.

We have a new addition to the newsletter—a music playlist! 

Charles, a data analyst and avid reader of this newsletter, moonlights as a DJ under the alias Bantu Groove and has offered to curate a playlist for every issue of the newsletter going forward. I was delighted to get his email. The playlist will live in the fun section of the newsletter and is the perfect way to kickstart your weekend.

Estimated read time: 5 minutes

💡 1 thing I've learned

Hashtag Goals

Source: GIPHY

Every Ugandan I know is either an exile or an exile in waiting.

When they tell you anything is possible in Uganda, optimism might lead you to believe you can achieve your wildest dreams.

Optimism might lead you to believe the “potential” we blabber about is similar to the American dream, where you can dance on TikTok at noon and meet Oprah by dinner time.

But no.

By anything is possible in Uganda, I mean I saw two goats tethered to the fuel price indicator at a Shell petrol station just a few minutes ago.

Not Mogas. Not Agip. Shell. They’re supposed to be one of the good ones 🤦🏾‍♂️.

I promise this is related. Stick with me.

***

At lunch yesterday, a couple of friends and I traded sob stories about Uganda:

Friend #1, who makes the most premium coffee you’ll ever have, had back-to-back conflicts with their neighbor. First, the neighbor felled trees that collapsed on my friend’s ripe coffee plants. Then, the neighbor burned a large pizza slice of my friend’s farm.

I sat there, read the room and fought the urge to tell him he must be…

…burnt out 🥁.

Friend #2 visited a government office and waited for a meeting with a government official for 5 hours, only succeeding in familiarizing themselves with the only efficient schedule in government offices—meal time. ‘Tis a conveyor belt of tea flasks and snacks ferried by ladies with thick underarms.

‘Twas my turn next, and I shoved my simple story about a Safeboda guy canceling on me and calling me a cockroach back in my chest pocket. One must read the room.

Silence washed over us for a moment.

Tired of (over)intellectualizing our problems, I said tersely, “We’re cursed.”

Friend #1 laughed and infected the rest of us. We all laughed to avoid crying.

The helplessness we feel reminds me of a lesson on goal-setting:

You can set extrinsic or intrinsic goals.

Extrinsic goals are outside your control—I want my son to play in the NBA and surpass LeBron James in every statistical category.

But intrinsic goals are within your control—I want my son to play basketball.

I think about my goals the same way I think about my fears. I name them specifically, figure out what I can control, and focus on that.

What are you hoping for? What are you scared of?

Do what you can and leave the rest for God and my country Uganda.

🔌 Shameless plug

My friend Sharon said TLDR Weekly is who it thinks it is. I can’t think of a better one-liner for this section this week.

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less 🚀

🎁 My favourite things

A quote

It’s almost like Charles Dickens knew about the upcoming Zoom calls in my calendar:

The mere consciousness of an engagement will sometimes worry a whole day

Charles Dickens

An article

3 rules to express your thoughts so that everyone understands you

A video

The test that reveals your hidden virtues

❤️ Share The Friday Fix online, via WhatsApp, Twitter, or email.

🚀 Pro tip

Make your data UNIQUE in 3,2,1…

Sometimes you have duplicate information and want to see only the unique items.

For example, you asked people for their dietary preferences for an event, and the results looked something like this:

After wondering why anyone would pick anything other than Gonja and wings, here’s how we figure out the unique items to order:

In an adjacent cell, use the UNIQUE function, enter the range in the Preferences column, and press enter

💡 Bonus tip: If you expect more preferences to come in, you can extend the range in the UNIQUE function as far as you want. UNIQUE is called a dynamic array, which, in simple terms, means it’s awesome and will update automatically.

Good luck at your next event!

🧩 Where fun goes to flourish

The Friday Fix playlist

Brain teaser

Brought to you by my Maths contest in Primary 6:

A book has 99 pages. How many numbers do you need to number the entire book?

Answer below

Shem’s picks

💡 This designer explains topics by sketching them

🤖 Use this site the next time you need writing ideas*

🧩 This site has a new word puzzle for every second of the day

*This is sponsored advertising content

Brain teaser answer

Answer:

Only 10 numbers: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9.

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

🤝🏾 How I can help you

  1. Want to be more confident and productive at work? Click here

  2. Is Excel or some other software giving you trouble? Hit me up

  3. Get your brand in front of hundreds of readers weekly

❤️ Share The Friday Fix online, via WhatsApp, Twitter, or email.

Reply

or to participate.