#15: Climb cringe mountain 🧗🏾‍♂️

Happy Friday! 🎉 I’m keeping a secret from everyone in my life (even you) for now. I hope it’s worth it.

In the meantime, have you changed your toothbrush? It’s been months, man. Come on!

🧹 Housekeeping…

  1. Get your brand in front of 200+ readers weekly: [email protected]

  2. Last week’s post or all the posts

  3. Tell me what you think of The Friday Fix so far 

  4. Leave a review

  5. First time here? Subscribe here ❤️

  6. Love The Friday Fix? Spread the love by forwarding it to your friends or just talking about it over dinner

Okay, let’s get into it 🚀

💡 1 thing I've learned this week

Climb cringe mountain 🧗🏾‍♂️

I used excalidraw.com to make this if you’re impressed or curious

Ignore the naysayers.

Sometimes they just can’t see what lies over cringe mountain.

I’ve experienced negative-speak a lot while making YouTube videos and putting my business out there for the world to sift through like fatty pieces of pork wrapped in foil paper.

[Now, I’m craving pork…let me call my boda guy]

And yes—making videos on the internet, dancing on Instagram, and writing random musings might be a little “cringe” sometimes.

But it has been worth it.

If you’re not doing something because you’re worried about what others might think, consider this the kick in the hide you need to get going.

I can’t take credit for this particular light bulb moment. I found it here.

🔌 Shameless plug

Readers are saying TLDR Weekly is “like the news but like THE NEWS”…I don’t get it either, but you should find out for yourself…

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less 🚀

🙏🏾 1 thing I'm grateful for

My gym instructor.

I might have said this before, but this man flushes out the fire in me and directs it at my body fat.

The results are undeniable.

🚀 Pro-tip

A heat map 🔥

If you can’t make the connection between “heat” & this GIF, I’ve failed you

The next time you have data in Excel or Google Sheets and want to highlight the trends within the dataset, use a heat map.

Because sometimes graphs are blasé.

But it has to be the right data.

Say you have data on test scores from a few students like so ⤵️

At first glance, it’s hard to make sense of the data.

But depending on your target audience, a heat map could make certain things stand out ⤵️

After the makeover, 2 things stand out to me:

  1. Test 5 was either easy, or the kids finally started studying

  2. Justice is the kind of student who reminds the teacher they haven’t assigned homework at the end of the school day 🤦🏾‍♂️

Wanna learn how to build a heat map?

1. Select the data

2. On the Home tab, go to “Conditional Formatting

3. Go to “Color Scales” and select an appropriate color scheme

Here’s a GIF demo ⤵️

❗ Color is a powerful tool in visualization, so use a color that resonates with your target audience

If you want a step-by-step walk-through of the process, here’s a link.

💡 Bonus tip (only in Excel):

To disappear the numbers and leave only the colors (sometimes appropriate), do this:

1. Select the data

2. Right-click and select “Format Cells

3. In the “Format Cells” pop-up menu, click “Custom

4. Delete “General” and replace it with 3 consecutive semi colons (;;;) (don’t ask)

5. Click “OK

Here’s a GIF demo:

Go forth and don’t be basic.

🧩 Games

Riddle

Brought to you by Braingle.

A farmer challenges an engineer, a physicist, and a mathematician to fence off the largest amount of area using the least amount of fence.

The engineer made his fence in a circle and said it was the most efficient.

The physicist made a long line and said that the length was infinite. Then he said that fencing half of the Earth was the best.

The mathematician laughed at the others and with his design, beat the others. What did he do?

Answer below

🔥 What's hot

Latest YouTube video

Latest blog article

▶️ Shem’s picks

🤖 Practical uses of AI for a newbie

🌴 The best beaches in the world

👀 What the world looks like for the colorblind

❓Riddle answer

Answer: The mathematician made a small fence around himself and declared himself to be on the outside.

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

💞 Reviews

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

…I like the brevity in presentation and the numerous resources shared. Thanks

ZR

🤝🏾 Let's connect

  1. Say hi on Twitter or Instagram

  2. Book a consultation for Excel or your CV

  3. Get your brand in front of 200+ readers weekly: [email protected]

  4. All my links

  5. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything.

This newsletter was forwarded to you? Subscribe here ❤️

Reply

or to participate.