#1: Show up as your authentic self ๐Ÿ˜‡

Welcome to The Friday Fix!

Over the last couple of years, my life has changed a lot because:

1. You chose to support my content: From Excel and productivity hacks on YouTube to random musings on my blog, you have kept me going

 2. I stifled my fears and put myself out there: I've learned that serendipity is a skill and you can make yourself lucky by just making (constructive) noise on the internet

And now, my team of 1 has decided to drop some of that heat directly in your email inbox.

Welcome to the first edition of my newsletter, The Friday Fix! Every Friday, I'll deliver productivity hacks, practical life advice, and gems from across the web to add value to your life and occasionally make you laugh.

Iโ€™m glad youโ€™re here and I canโ€™t wait to get started, soโ€ฆletโ€™s get into it ๐Ÿ‘Š๐Ÿพ

โ€” Shem

PS: If at any point (hopefully never) you feel like these unsolicited overtures from me grind your gears, don't worry. You can unsubscribe in the footer of each email. Au contraire, if this newsletter becomes your jam, don't keep it a secret like that quaint restaurant you loved before everyone else discovered it; Spread the love by forwarding it to your friends, family, and strangers.

This newsletter was forwarded to you? Subscribe here โค๏ธ

๐Ÿ’ก 1 thing I've learned this week

Show up as your authentic self always ๐Ÿ˜‡

This week I got head-hunted for an exciting opportunity I'll share soon if it pans out. Pardon the suspense, 100+ job application rejections have caused me to manage my expectations.

While chatting with the recruiter over Javas juice, she said something thatโ€”amid bright purple blushingโ€”stuck with me:

My favorite thing about you is you show up as your authentic self. I watch your videos and I can tell you're not faking who you are. I can always tell when people are faking it. This is one of the reasons why I think you would be perfect for this role.

Anonymous head-hunter vibing me

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ 1 thing I'm grateful for

My gym instructor ๐Ÿฆพ

After a 3-year hiatus from the gym that I wrote about so eloquently here, I needed a guardian angel to whip me back in shape. My gym instructor is brutal, intolerant of whining, and haunts me like the ocean waves haunt the shore. His militant ways are just what I need to get back in shape. When you meet me, please tell me I look good. Otherwise, what's the point?

๐Ÿš€ Pro-tip

Give your messy Excel sheet a facelift in less than 5 seconds ๐Ÿงน

POV: Your data looks like this:

The cell entries are too big to fit squarely in the cells so you resort to manually enlarging the columns and rows to make everything fit. That's what someone who doesn't read this newsletter would do.

Here's a quick way to fix it in less than 5 seconds:

In case you blinked and got lost, here's what to do:

  • Select the entire sheet by clicking the box in the top left corner of the sheet (left of Column A and above row 1)

  • Hover the cursor over the line that marks the end of Column A until the cursor becomes a cross with left/right directional arrows. Double click

  • Do the same for the line that marks the end of row 1 and double click.

  • Done

๐Ÿ”ฅ What's hot

My YouTube video this week ๐Ÿ“ฝ๏ธ

My New Year message on the blog ๐ŸŽ‰

๐Ÿ’Ž Gems from the internet

  1. The science of manifestation ๐Ÿง˜๐Ÿพโ€โ™‚๏ธ: We're still within the "Happy New Year" statute of limitations. So... this podcast episode will change the way you approach your life goals.

  2. A productivity playlist from a pianist ๐ŸŽน: French pianist, Riopyโ€™s playlist is guaranteed to shoot your productivity out of orbit.

  3. If you're a TV buff like me, here's a list of the 25 best TV episodes of 2022 ๐Ÿ“บ

  4. How to figure out what to do with your life ๐Ÿ›Ÿ: Need I say more?

  5. Since we're still convinced we're actually going to work out in 2023, here's a helpful Twitter thread ๐Ÿงต

Have a great weekend,

โ€” Shem

Say hi ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿพ on Twitter or Instagram

๐Ÿค๐Ÿพ Let's connect

  1. Book a consultation for Excel or your CV

  2. Want to sponsor or advertise in this newsletter? Email me: [email protected] 

  3. All my links

  4. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything.

This newsletter was forwarded to you? Subscribe here โค๏ธ

Reply

or to participate.