#24: The power of one

Happy Friday šŸŽ‰ Two things:

  1. Scientists verified that after spending almost 16 years in captivity without males, a female crocodile in Costa Rica gave birth to an offspring that was 99.9% genetically similar. Fingers crossed, ladies. Today itā€™s a crocodile, tomorrow it could beā€¦you?

  1. Want to crush it at work, get promoted and make more money? Sign up for my first career workshop happening on July 6th. There are limited slots, so sign up and Iā€™ll email you more details next week.

šŸ§¹ Housekeepingā€¦

  1. The Friday Fix has 444 readers today. Buy yourself a drink on me šŸ»

  2. If youā€™re new here, weā€™ll get matching tattoos soon; have a seat!

  3. If you havenā€™t yet, please fill out this short survey so I can learn more about you and make your experience here worthwhile

  4. Leave a review; Iā€™ll put them on billboards all over the city when we blow up

  5. Want to show your product to 444 people this week? Email me

Okay, letā€™s get into it šŸš€

šŸ’” 1 thing I've learned

The power of one.

I donā€™t care if you read this.

Okay, Iā€™m lying. I care a lot more than I should.

But when I started, I didnā€™t care at all.

Even though I dream of this newsletter blowing up and becoming fodder for conversations at dinner tables everywhere, I donā€™t write to appeal to you.

I write to younger meā€”

Me 10 years ago.

Me a week ago,

Me yesterday.

I write to myself, and because the human experience is the most unoriginal phenomenon since the last Hallmark movie you watched, creating something with a specific person in mind, effectively appeals to a wider audience.

Remember WORDLE? A husband created it for his wife who loved word games. Wordle blew up and the husband sold it to the New York Times for a small fortune.

The power of one lies in the care and attention niching down compels you to consider.

So, the next time you want to make something, think about that one person youā€™re making it for. What do they look like? What are they afraid of? What do they want most? Do they take three meals a day or skip lunch? Do they have kids? Are they married? Do they like dogs? Who are they?

Donā€™t pander to the public. Pour your heart out to one person, and watch the crowd gather around.

AD: Kiss the basic life goodbye šŸ’‹

There are two kinds of people in the world: those who donā€™t use lip balm and spend 8 hours a day licking their lips, and those who love them themselves and stay ready to be kissed at a momentā€™s notice. Who do you want to be? 

šŸ”Œ Shameless plug

If a tree falls in a forest, do you subscribe to TLDR Weekly? Doesnā€™t make sense? Neither does your hesitationā€¦

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less šŸš€

šŸ™šŸ¾ 1 thing I'm grateful for

My sonā€™s dimples.

I used to have dimples. I still maintain I do despite the overwhelming evidence to the contrary.

My wife also thinks she has dimples. Whenever we have this debate, she twists her face like sheā€™s pretending to enjoy a shot of tequila and presses the flesh just below her razor-sharp cheekbones.

And I get out my magnifying glassā€¦

ā€¦and lie to her because thatā€™s the secret to a happy marriage.

But Zion has dimples! We just hope they last; lest his future lovers and friends have to buy magnifying glasses.

ā¤ļø Enjoying The Friday Fix? SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND

šŸš€ Pro-tip

Your next favourite Excel function in 3,2,1ā€¦

If you wanted to number a list of items from 1 to 10, how would you generate the numbers?

1. Weā€™re definitely using Excel or Google Sheets

2. You could type the numbers manually ā€” ā­

3. OR, you could do this ā¤µļø ā€” ā­ā­ā­:

3. ORR, you could use the SEQUENCE function ā€” ā­ā­ā­ā­ā­:

Try it with 100 šŸ˜‰

Fine is the line between basic and boss! Choose wisely.

šŸ§© Games

An illusion

Apparently, some people canā€™t see the 3-digit number in the picture below. Can you? (Donā€™t panic if you canā€™t)

Answer below

šŸ”„ What's hot

Latest video

Shemā€™s picks

šŸ¤— How much social interaction do you actually need?

šŸ¦Ž What the world would look like a year after human extinction

šŸø This frog lives better than you and I

ā“Riddle answer

Answer: 571

Have a great weekend,

ā€” Shem

šŸ’ž Reviews

ā­ ā­ ā­ ā­ ā­

My diction and reasoning is improving as I read your emails each week. I like the humour too. Kudos

Priscilla, Advocacy & Comms at an NGO

šŸ¤šŸ¾ Let's connect

  1. Say hi on Twitter or Instagram

  2. Book a consultation 

  3. Get your brand in front of hundreds of readers weekly

  4. All my links

  5. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything

Reply

or to participate.