#26: When I grow up, I...

Happy Friday 🎉 It has been a tough week for me, so let’s open with a joke: 

Uganda.

Okay, scientists on the International Space Station figured out how to turn almost all astronauts’ sweat and urine into safe drinking water. You just know no black person was involved in this research.

The career workshops have a name (Career Lab) and the pilot session is next week. You should sign up because we’ll level up your career and make you a more confident professional. Secure your spot here.

Estimated read time: 5 minutes

💡 1 thing I've learned

When I grow up, I…

When I was 5, I wanted to be a neurosurgeon. In fact, my dad has a letter I wrote to him, describing my life as a scalpel-wielding surgeon.

When I was 7, I wanted to be a lawyer. But it turned out I just liked suits. My mum tossed those dreams in the boot by saying: “You can be a lawyer at any time, so first pick something else.”

I didn’t circle back.

When I was 13, the doctor bug in me that lay dormant resurfaced; its infection bought mailo land in my body.

But today, I’m walking—no, running—away from medicine faster than the neighbourhood cat evades your touch.

Tomorrow, I want to write a book, make money from making videos on the internet, consult, and retire at 45.

Tomorrow, I want healthcare to become my side hustle.

So, I’m going to write about Shem in 10 years on a regular, non-special Monday. What will he be wearing? What toothpaste will he use? Will he have a 9-5? Will he finally own land? Will he drive the kids to school? Will he hop on an afternoon flight to chill with Vitalijs, his estranged Latvian gentle giant of a friend he has always wanted to reconnect with? Will he wear loafers or sneakers? Will he wear sunscreen? Will he work out in the morning or the afternoon? What will that regular, non-special Monday look like?

I’m going to write about that Shem in the kind of detail the FBI would salivate at.

And then I’ll tie a string from present-day Shem’s left ankle to the right ankle of Shem in 10 years and double knot it.

Every year, I’ll check what I wrote to make sure the rope isn’t shearing at the edges. To make sure I catch up to that future Shem.

Sounds like an interesting exercise, right?

🔌 Shameless plug

Grown men are reading TLDR Weekly and laughing their asses off. And they said men can’t multitask…

TLDR WeeklyThe top stories from Uganda and the rest of the world in 5 minutes or less 🚀

🎁 My favourite things

A meal

The Unshakeable Burger at Endiro Cafe is who it thinks it is.

An article

A quote

Absence is to love what wind is to fire; extinguishes the small, but extends the great!

Roger de Bussy-Rabutin

A TV show

The Witcher Season 3 (Volume I) is out, so that’s where I’ll be when you call and get no response.

❤️ Enjoying The Friday Fix? SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND

🚀 Pro-tip

Making your Google documents easier to read in 3,2,1…

Bookmarking helps you reference features (images, text, tables, etc.) within your document so that readers can refer to the features quickly.

1. You have a visual you’d like to refer to several times in your document

2. Select the visual you want to refer to by clicking on it

3. While the visual is selected, click Insert on the toolbar and select Bookmark

4. After bookmarking the visual, you can refer to the visual anywhere in the document by adding a hyperlink to the relevant text.

You add a hyperlink by selecting the relevant text, clicking Ctrl + K (for PCs) or ⌘ + K (for Macs) and selecting the bookmark icon in the resultant dropdown list. (All the bookmarks you create will appear in that dropdown list)

5. Click the link to jump to the image

💡 If your document is long, you might need a way to return to the hyperlinked text after viewing the image. Microsoft Word blows Google Docs out of the water here because it has a dedicated shortcut for this (Shift + F5). With Google Docs, you have to use a workaround:

6. Add some dummy characters before the hyperlinked text such that once you click the hyperlink and you’re transferred to the visual, clicking Undo in the tool bar, or Ctrl + Z (for PCs) or ⌘ + Z (for Macs) will remove the dummy characters and take you back to the spot right next to the hyperlinked text

Make your documents great again.

🧩 Games

Brain teaser

Brought to you by Braingle

The following sentences have two blanks that can be filled with two words that are anagrams of each other. An anagram is a word, phrase, or name formed by rearranging the letters of another, such as spar, formed from rasp.

Please find those words.

1. Marcus had to take his telescope to a __________ location so he could watch the __________ showers back in June.

2. The jazz fest was made up __________ of adults over 30. On the other side of the fairgrounds, the art __________ had people from 8 to 88.

3. The anxious patient in the doctor's office was __________ that so little time had __________ between his appointment time and the time he was actually seen.

Answer below

🔥 What's hot

Latest video

Shem’s picks

🔒 Pick a password: it’s harder than it looks

🔊 40 prompts that’ll change your life forever

📚 A library of short stories

❓Riddle answer

Answer:

1. Remote, Meteor
2. Largely, Gallery
3. Pleased, Elapsed

Have a great weekend,

— Shem

💞 Reviews

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Do you actually read the reviews?

Anonymous

🤝🏾 How I can help you

  1. Want to be more confident and productive at work? Click here

  2. Is Excel or some other software giving you trouble? Hit me up

  3. Get your brand in front of hundreds of readers weekly

  4. Got a question for me? Hit reply and ask. I read and answer everything

Reply

or to participate.